Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

free consultation 24/7

all credit cards accepted

Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Our Former New Jersey Deputy Attorney General has handled hundreds of ABC cases. Let us put our experience to work for you.

Schedule Consultation

Charges for Purchasing Alcohol Underage in New Jersey

N.J.S.A. 33:1-81(b) Defense Attorney

New Jersey’s Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control created and coordinates a program known as “Cops in Shops”. This program is funded by the federal government and targets underage drinking. Generally, this program involves local law enforcement, in connection with State ABC investigators and detectives, staking out liquor stores or other places of business in an effort to snuff-out underage persons. If you or your child have been charged with underage consumption of alcohol or underage purchase of alcohol, contact the attorneys at Proetta & Oliver. Our firm focus our work on liquor laws and criminal defense. Allow us to put our experience to work for you and call (732) 858-5857 today for your free consultation.

N.J.S.A. 33:1-81. Underage Drinking and Misrepresenting Age to Induce Sale or Delivery to Minor

Under 33:1-81(b), it is a disorderly persons offense for:

“(b) A person under the legal age for purchasing alcoholic beverages to consume any alcoholic beverage on premises licensed for the retail sale of alcoholic beverages, or to purchase, attempt to purchase or have another purchase for him any alcoholic beverage;”

These charges deal specifically with offenses that occur on liquor licensed premises. This means that if you are at a bar, restaurant, liquor store or entertainment complex (PNC Bank Arts Center, Meadowlands, etc.), then you are susceptible to this charge. This is critical as officers who attempt to charge you under this statute for Underage Drinking in other private or public areas may not charge you under this statute. Our firm knows the boundaries and locations of New Jersey Liquor licenses, call today and find out how this may affect your charges.

Penalties for Underage Drinking 33:1-81(b)

As a disorderly persons offense, you or your child will be facing up to six (6) months in county jail, a minimum fine of $500.00, and mandatory six (6) month suspension of your driving privileges in New Jersey. This is in addition to a criminal record, which will follow you like a black crowd as you attempt to build a career or become a professional.

New Jersey Underage Drinking Attorney

For immediate consultation with an experienced attorney, call (732) 858-5857. Our firm can be reached 24/7 and represent clients charged under N.J.S.A. 33:1-81 across the state of New Jersey.

Contact Us

Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. All major credit cards are accepted.

PRINCETON OFFICE

100 Horizon Center Boulevard,
Hamilton, NJ 08691

Phone: (609) 789-0779

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

JERSEY CITY OFFICE

101 Hudson Street, 21st Floor,
Jersey City NJ 07302

Phone: (201) 793-8018

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

CRANFORD OFFICE

20 Commerce Drive, Room 135
Cranford, New Jersey 07016

Phone: (908) 838-0150

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

EDISON OFFICE

3840 Park Avenue, Suite 202A
Edison, New Jersey 08820

Phone: (732) 659-9600

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

MIDDLETOWN OFFICE

18 Kings Highway, Suite 109
Middletown, NJ 07748

Phone: (732) 858-6959

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions