Possession of a Fake ID Attorneys in NJ
During the summer months, Belmar becomes a vibrant and busy community. As a result, bars and clubs like Bar Anticipation, D’Jais, Boathouse, Paul’s Tavern and Joe’s Surf Shack are overrun with young adults. This leads to 20 year old, 19 year old and even 18 year old teenagers trying to slip into the bar for a drink with a Fake ID. Whether you are from New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania or elsewhere, criminal charges for Possession of a Fake ID, Disorderly Conduct or Underage Drinking are a serious matter.
If you or someone in your family were arrested in Belmar and charged criminally, please contact our office immediately at (732) 858-5857. Our firm specializes in Criminal and Alcohol laws in New Jersey. With offices located locally, we are available to assist you or your family member in their time of need. Please do not hesitate to reach out with any questions or concerns you may have regarding the process of a criminal charge before the Belmar Municipal Court.
What is the Law for Underage Drinking in NJ?
In New Jersey, the law of for Underage Drinking Charges is N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15. Under this law, is is a disorderly persons offense for “any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who knowingly possesses without legal authority or who knowingly consumes any alcoholic beverage in any school, public conveyance, public place, or place of public assembly, or motor vehicle.”
What are the Penalties for Underage Drinking in New Jersey?
If found guilty of Underage Drinking in Belmar, you are facing up to six (6) months in the Monmouth County Jail, probation, a criminal record and over $1,000 in fines, fees and court costs. For those still in college, a criminal record could be a significant deterrent in future employment opportunities.
Can My Driver’s License Be Suspended for Underage Drinking?
If the underlying charges occurred while you were in a motor vehicle, then in addition to any sentence imposed by the judge, your driver’s license must be suspended for a period of six (6) months. For those individuals who are under 17 years old, the license suspension will be postponed so that it does not begin until you reach 17 years of age and you become eligible to apply for a driver’s license.
What is the Law for Possession of a Fake ID?
In New Jersey, Possession of a Fake ID or False Identification Document is prosecuted under N.J.S.A. 2C:28-7. This statute deals with “tampering with public records or information.” While the law is very verbose, the essential elements for the criminal offense of Possessing a Fake ID requires that the defendant commit either: (1) Knowingly makes a false entry in, or false alteration of, any record, document or thing belonging to, or received or kept by, the government for information or record, or required by law to be kept by others for information of the government; OR (2)Make, present, offer for filing, or uses any record, document or thing knowing it to be false, and with purpose that it be taken as a genuine part of information or records referred to in paragraph.
Can I Go to Jail for a Fake ID Criminal Charge in Belmar?
Technically, yes. However, rarely, will the Belmar Municipal Judge sentence a defendant to a term of incarceration for Possession of a Fake ID. Nevertheless, this charge does carry up to six (6) months in the Monmouth County Jail, a criminal record and over $1,000 in fines, fees and court costs.
Disorderly Conduct Attorneys in Belmar
In addition to criminal charges for Possession of a Fake ID or Underage Drinking, Belmar Police often arrest and charge individuals with Disorderly Conduct. This can be based on a failure to leave a bar, engaging in a fight or certain other behavior. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2, Disorderly Conduct is a Petty Disorderly Persons Offense in New Jersey, commonly referred to as a misdemeanor. The law states that the Disorderly Conduct involves either Improper Behavior or Offensive Language. “Improper Behavior” typically involves some for or fighting, threatening or violent behavior that causes public inconvenience or annoyance. “Offensive Language” usually involves unreasonably loud or offensively coarse language made in a public setting. If found guilty, you face up to thirty (30) days in the Monmouth County Jail, probation and a criminal record.
“Public” means affecting or likely to affect persons in a place to which the public or a substantial group has access; among the places included are highways, transport facilities, schools, prisons, apartment houses, places of business or amusement, or any neighborhood.
Belmar NJ Lawyer for Underage Drinking N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15
If you or someone you know has been arrested and charged with underage consumption of alcohol or underage possession of alcohol under N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15, we can help. Our former Deputy Attorney General with the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control has spent part of his career prosecuting similar cases on behalf of the State. Allow him to put this experience to work for you in your case. We can be reached 24/7 at (732) 858-5857. Call today and schedule your free initial consultation.